Starting to Feel Whole. First Days of Week 6

I am six weeks pregnant today and actually feeling pretty good. My boobs have either calmed down or I am getting used to everything feeling like sandpaper against them. Morning sickness has subsided and my headache hasn’t returned. Perhaps I can take the credit for feeling good because I have been eating good foods and staying away from gluten foods. Or maybe this is just how my pregnancy will be. I won’t count on it but I will cross my fingers. I definitely feel like a little bit of me has some say in how I am going to feel this week.

handmade crocheted bracelet in cotton

handmade crocheted bracelet in cotton

In my 6th week this is what the Internet has to say about what I can expect:

The Baby: Your baby’s jaw, cheeks, chin, eyes, ears, and nose are beginning to form what will eventually become one adorable face. In addition, her kidneys, liver, and lungs are developing, and her heart is now beating 80 times a minute (and getting faster every day). All this and she/he is still no bigger than 3/4 of an inch in length.

Symptoms to add to the list:

Bloating: Blame the progesterone that’s coursing through your body as you read this — this delightful hormone is essential for maintaining a healthy pregnancy, but it also is responsible for your puff mommy-to-be look. Eat lots of fiber and drink plenty of water to avoid getting constipated, which can aggravate bloating.

Increased sense of smell: Now that you’re pregnant, you’ve got a bloodhound’s keen nose. You can smell your coworker’s lunch from across the room, the cologne your office-mate is wearing, and someone’s dirty sneakers (all at the same time!). What’s the deal with your supersensitive sniffer? Blame your hormones again. If your nose is making the queasies worse, surround yourself with some scents that may make you feel better (if there are any). Some to try: mint, ginger, and lemon.

 

I guess I have something to look forward to.

2 thoughts on “Starting to Feel Whole. First Days of Week 6

  1. girlgonegranola says:

    The super sense of smell was ROUGH on me when I was pregnant with Liv. I couldn’t eat or cook meat for anything. As a result, Bill was an involuntary vegetarian for a month or two. 😉

Leave a Reply

