Creating a Keepsake: Pregnancy Journal

JournalI have started writing a pregnancy journal, for the specific purpose of handing down to the 5 ounce mango when he/she is grown. I had a hard time figuring out how to start it. Would I be writing as if I am just writing a personal journal? A “Dear Diary” type thing? Or would I make it addressed to our baby, while writing as if it were a story. I took the story route. The other thought I had, should this journal be typed out on a computer file or handwritten? I was going to type it but then decided to hand write it because I found a birthday card from my grandmother written to me when I was 8 years old and I continue to find her handwriting fascinating. Hoping that personal touch will be treasured by our child as well.

I started with a front page of simple facts about our life before he was born. Cars we owned, the year and the cost of each, what we lived in, where we lived and what pets we owned. Then I thought about how much I enjoyed looking at those papers that list out the price of milk, gas, a McDonalds cheeseburger from the year you were born. So I have started taking pictures of menus baby journaland gas station signs and keeping a few receipts. Those things will just be added to the journal loose.

The strange thing about writing for a child you don’t have yet, and also can’t name because we don’t know what it is yet, is trying to make things interesting without watering it down. Do I write about the Red Spotting scare we had? Should I include my good thoughts and excitement along side my nervousness and insecurity? Basically do I tell all of the truth or most truths? So far I think it is balanced with truths.

What other interesting facts should I include in the journal?

What did you include for your journal?

Leave a Reply

