18!!!! Weeks Pregnant, getting bumpy

random flower with a friend

random flower with a friend

I am 18 weeks pregnant and if you go by that I am getting into my 5th month of pregnancy, but if you count out the traditional way I am only 4 months along. Either way I am still due in December and have until then to go. 9 months of pregnancy for the non week counter and 10 months for those (pregnant ones) that count weeks.

The bumps are all good. He or She is starting to knock and kick more often. Kicking hard enough to get my attention. It all feels pretty great. A kick to say good morning, a nudge of approval about lunch and a final punch to say good night. Never thought I would say I enjoy getting pushed around, but I apparently I do.

This week is 4th of July and one of my favorite holiday celebrations. I tend to be a bit of a patriot, being an Air Force Brat and Army Wife I am very proud of my family history, my father and husband. So national holidays get my attention in more ways than BBQ’s and Beer. But this one has an added appreciation for all the fruit we will have to add to the celebration. This Mango is demanding fruit and thankfully we live in an area that has no shortage of fresh fruit and road side fruit stands.

Baby Stats for 18 weeks:

Head to rump, your baby is about 5 1/2 inches long, and he weighs almost 7 ounces. He’s busy flexing his arms and legs β€” movements that you’ll start noticing more and more in the weeks ahead. His blood vessels are visible through his thin skin, and his ears are now in their final position, although they’re still standing out from his head a bit. A protective covering of myelin is beginning to form around his nerves, a process that will continue for a year after he’s born. If you’re having a girl, her uterus and fallopian tubes are formed and in place. If you’re having a boy, his genitals are noticeable now, but he may hide them from you during an ultrasound. Your baby is also now sporting his own unique set of finger and toe prints.

As for myself, I am still feeling great. The heat, 100 for the past 3 days, has kicked my ass. Walking the dogs in the morning has taken more effort and more out of me then in cooler weather. Frozen Coconut Water fruit bars are saving me. I feel full faster when I eat meals. I wake up hungry and thirsty in the mornings and take a daily afternoon nap. I have gained a total of 6 pounds over the 18 weeks and try to eat good, I try. My BOOBS were big to start, I was a DD, I have over night skipped triple D phase and have hit the F’s. Good God! F’s people. Time for new bras and stretchy yoga pants and shorts.

Happy 4th of July Friends and Family!

Leave a Reply

