19 weeks. Can’t tie my shoes, sorta

As of yesterday I am 19 weeks pregnant and encountering new obstacles and funny moments daily. The funniest one is walking into a room and Daddy O immediately smiles and starts giggling, yes giggling, at me. I stop walking, say what and he says “You are pregnant. What are we going to do?” Haha funny guy. This is in response to the fact that I can NOT suck in my belly. I am definitely pregnant.

my disappearing converse

my disappearing converse

And with not being able to suck in my belly I am no longer able to tie my shoes in my usually bend straight over way. Food tends to revisit my mouth, I know, not nice. Then when I squat down, knee to chest, to tie my shoe I am uncomfortable and can’t breath. My only option is to wear slip ons or sit in a chair opposite ankle on knee and tie my shoe sideways. Doing this makes me feel more OLD than pregnant.

The other obstacle has become sleeping. As a child and teen I slept almost exclusively on my back then as an adult I turned to my left side, especially when falling asleep. After reading about how I need to sleep starting with my 20th week and beyond I thought fantastic, I am already a left side sleeper. Apparently I don’t like to be told what to do even in my sleep. Now I bolt awake the minute I roll onto my back or stomach. And lately I have been waking up every hour.

The other sleep dilemma is rolling over. When I do bolt awake from my back touching the sheets, I have to sit up inorder to move back to my left side. No more smooth rolling for the next 21 weeks I guess.

In other Baby news the blueberry has progressed into a lovely mango.

What to expect says:

Have you ever seen a mango dipped in cheese? Well, that’s what your baby looks like this week due to a little growth spurt (she’s about a half pound in weight and six inches long from head to rump) and a substance called vernix caseosa. This greasy white stuff covers your baby’s skin, protecting it from the surrounding amniotic fluid. (Without it, she’d look totally wrinkled as she entered the world.) The vernix sheds as delivery approaches, though some babies still sport a bit of the coating at birth.

Baby Center .com says:

Your baby’s sensory development is exploding! Her brain is designating specialized areas for smell, taste, hearing, vision, and touch. Some research suggests that she may be able to hear your voice now, so don’t be shy about reading aloud, talking to her, or singing a happy tune if the mood strikes you.

Your baby weighs about 8 1/2 ounces and measures 6 inches, head to bottom — about the size of an heirloom tomato. Her arms and legs are in the right proportions to each other and the rest of her body now. Her kidneys continue to make urine and the hair on her scalp is sprouting. A waxy protective coating

19 weeks. The Baby Bump

19 weeks. The Baby Bump

called the vernix caseosa is forming on her skin to prevent it from pickling in the amniotic fluid.

8 ounces or 1/2 a pound explains a lot now. A mango is kicking me, only on my left side, and having a great time. It either really likes grapefruit or is trying to get away from the bitter sweet juice. Already starting in on “mom knows best” I plan to bombard baby with green spinach filled juice, carrots and bitter or spicy foods. Hoping when it comes to No Mush Foods later on he/she will be crazy for veggies and will want the same onion & garlic filled evenings that we love.

But here is to saying goodbye to seeing my feet and hello to knowing the sex of this mango next week.

Leave a Reply

