No Bake Oatmeal Bars

Last week I was busy getting ready for a few friends to visit for the weekend and I wanted to create a few snacks ahead of time. But I wanted the snacks to be on the healthier side. Digging through the internet I found two No Bake granola bars that seemed great. I only had a portion of the ingredients needed for each recipe. Luckily it was different parts so I combined the recipes and made a few changes to each. One of the biggest changes I needed to make was the amount of honey used. The first batch came out tasting great, possibly a little too sweet, but also a little too gooey. Both the recipes asked for peanut butter. I am not a fan and actually didn’t have any in the house so I used chunky Almond butter instead.

GRANOLA bar ingredients

 

What you will need:

  • 2 1/2 cups Rolled Oats
  • 1/2 cup almond butter or peanut butter of your choice
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries chopped
  • 1 cup whole dates. soak in water for ten minutes, drained and then chop or blended
  • 1/2 cup of shredded coconut or more. we like coconut in this house
  • 1/2 cup slivered almonds
  • 1 teaspoon hazelnut extract
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • pinch of salt

* you could add chocolate chips or other dried fruits.

You will also need a large bowl to mix all the ingredients together. I used a large spoon to get the mixing done. A dish that is freeze safe and cling or clear wrap.

GRANOLA ready to spread

I mixed all the dry ingredients in a bowl together. Placed the Almond butter, extracts and honey in a microwave safe bowl and warmed it 30 seconds at a time until it was very soft, dripped from the spoon and well combined. Next step – add the honey mixture to the bowl of dry ingredients. This part got a little messy. I was able to get it well combined with my spoon but I did contemplate getting my hands into it.

GRANOLA WRAPPED

Then I placed the mixture into my freeze safe dish that is lined with cling wrap. Any size dish will work, smaller dish makes a thicker bar, it’s up to you. Once the no bake mixture is spread to the thickness you desire fold the cling wrap over it. Now you can really press on it making it more even and smoothing out any lumps. I liked being able to make the edges uniformed.

Place the entire dish in the freezer for at least 30 minutes. Remove from the freezer, here’s where the cling wrap comes in handy, lifts right out of the dish no mess no sticky. Unwrap and cut into the size you like, I used a pizza cutter. Because these do have the kick of natural sugars (honey and dates) I made them a little bigger than bite size.

GRANOLA CUT

I keep my bars in the freeze so they stay fresh longer. You can keep them in the fridge or in the pantry. In the pantry in the summer time though they won’t keep very long and will be a little on the soft side. But hopefully everyone likes them so much they won’t last long enough to notice or go bad.

For Breastfeeding Moms this recipe could easily handle the additions of Flax seeds and barely to turn them into Lactation Granola Bars.

Leave a Reply

