Fitted Crib Sheet Tutorial with My Favorite Video

Shortly after I taught myself to sew and a couple of months after Little K was born I wanted to make things for her. Jersey headbands, baby leggings and then I saw a video on how to make crib sheets and my mind went nuts. Wait, I could make her crib bedding? I COULD make her crib bedding. And you can too. The supply list is pretty short and straight forward.

  • 2 yards of fabric ** helpful hint ** make sure it measures at least 44 inches across. Anything shorter won’t work.
  • 90 inches of elastic. I used quarter-inch wide.

crib sheet

Wash and iron your fabric before working with it.

Cut your fabric to measure 44×68 inches. Then fold it in half, lengthwise and then in half again. So the four corners are all together. Next you need to cut out an 8×8 square from the corners. This will create your fitted crib sheet corners once sewn together.

Here is my favorite video for the sewing instructions and two options for adding the elastic.

I loved the fabric I chose so much that I picked up another yard 36×44 and 1 yard of Gray Minky Dot. Measured the minky to match the measurements of the floral fabric, placed right sides together and sewed around the edges leaving a 3 inch opening. Turned the blanket right side out and sewed about a quarter-inch top stitch all around the blanket closing off the 3 inch opening in the process. DONE. Matching baby blanket and Fitted Crib Sheet.

matching set

Leave a Reply

